

DISTRICT 112

Virtual SPECIAL Council Meeting

Saturday 24th June 2023 commencing at 1pm

Meeting link:

https://us06web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZYqcO6prDsuH9Ecrqu0nywSic4q HQnLrzp Meeting ID: 827 7712 0455

	Draft Minutes		
1.	Call to Order and Welcome		
	Call to Order and Welcome		
	District Director, Wendy Wickliffe called the meeting to order and welcomed officers to the Meeting. It was also called for the District Administration Manager to read the Notice of Meeting for which was done.		
	Voting Procedures		
	The procedures for a virtual District Executive Council meeting were outlined. Members were reminded that Presidents and Vice Presidents of Education can carry each other's proxies for their Clubs, BUT NO OTHER PROXIES were accepted for this meeting. Should there be an opposition to a motion, then the polling option in zoom will be utilised. The Public Relations Manager may take screen shots of the gallery for publicity purposes and anyone not wishing to have their image shown can turn off their video. The recording for this meeting will be destroyed after the minutes have been approved at the September 2023 Semi Annual Council Meeting.*		
	See Item 9 for explanation		
2.	District Mission Statement		
	Program Quality Director, James Hippolite, read the District Mission		
3.	Credentials Report and Confirmation of Quorum		
	District Parliamentarian Alun Chisholm advised that a quorum for a virtual District Council Meeting is one-third of the club presidents and vice presidents education. The District currently has 126 clubs in good standing, making 252 votes. One-third of this is 84 votes. There are 86 club officers present and confirmed we do have a quorum. 22 District Officers were present meaning at total of 108 votes present at the DCM.		
4.	Speaking Rights		
	District Director Wendy Wickliffe advised that club presidents, vice presidents education and district officers present have speaking rights at this meeting. This included rights to move and second motions or amendments. She also extended speaking rights only to all past district governors/directors, and current field officers.		

Timing Limitations indication for when speaking to motions and amendments

5.	Voting					
	District Director Wendy Wickliffe outlined how voting would be done in this virtual forum					
	should a vote be required					
7.	Apologies					
	Sheryl Dickerson	VPEd for Silverdale Orewa TM club				
	Bachelier, Jeremy	AD N1				
	Helen Madden	President - East Coast Bays Toastmasters				
	Steve Tutbury	Ed VP bay City TM				
	Wendy Booth	VPE, Pioneers Toastmasters				
	Steve Holroyd	President DRI Remarks				
	Nikki Voakes	AD				
	Brett Dickson					
	Jody Bews-Hair	President, Eastern Bays Toastmasters Club				
	Tony Siu	Area Director N2				
	Jennifer Kerr	AD 05				
	Allister Jennings	President, Devonport Esplanade, North Shore				
	Declan Langston.					
	Mark Tweedale	Botany Toastmasters VP Education				
		Area O3 Director (2022-2023)				
	Jarrod Hill	president of Northwest Toastmasters				
	Faye Storer,	Pres./VP Education, Waiheke Island Toastmasters				
	James Edley	AD M1				
	Ashley Doo	AD 02				
	Sarah Wilson	President, Three Kings Toastmasters				
	Gary Inwood	President Flying Start				
	Clarence Tong	Club president and Interim VP of Education for Toast of bro				
		2				
	Jamie DeGreat	President of Howick Toastmasters				
	Kate Scanlen	VPEd, Ma Runga Waka Toastmasters				
	Martyn Ecroyd	President of Warkworth Toastmasters				
	Michael Archer	President - Franklin toastmasters				
	Steve Breen	President Eastland Toastmasters Club				
	Luke Ioane	President @Research on Toast				
	THAT THESE APOLOGIES BE ACCEPTED. MOVED: Ben Ross, District Administration Manager					
8.	Confirmation of Agenda					
	THAT THE AGENDA BE ACCEPTED					
	Moved: ??					
	Second: ??					

N/A

9. Confirmation of Minutes of Virtual District Council Meeting held on 29 April 2023

The minutes as circulated were confirmed.

It was raised that Item 18 **District Structure for the 2022-2023 Toastmasters Year** (**Realignment**) had a significant error in how the Resolution was written and that discussion points leading to the Resolution were not added into the Minutes.

After discussion it was concluded and agreed by the Council that the Minutes pertaining to Item 18 would be reviewed, and that accepting the April 2023 Annual District Council Meeting would be ratified at the September 2023 Semi-Annual District Council Meeting. This has no consequence on continuing with Item 13 below.

Consequently, recording for the April 2023 DCM will not be Destroyed until the Minutes are subsequently ratified.

10. Matters Arising from the Minutes

See Item 9.

12. Confirmation of Officer Appointments since the April Council meeting

District Director Elect – James Hippolite informed the Council that at the April Annual District Council Meeting there has been 27 District Officer appointments. Since then 23 further changes were made bringing the total 50 Officer appointments with 3 Vacancies as of June 2023, this list is published on the Council website.

Admin Note: It was raised by Murray Coutts that the District Officer appointments be listed (published to District Website) and District Field Officers be advised (which subsequently are also published on the District Website)

The list and advisement are also below.

District Officers Appointed

District Officers Appoi	nted	r	T	T
Administration				
Manager			Benjamin	Ross
Area Director	1	K	Gavin	Lamb
Area Director	2	L	Natalia	Ortega
Area Director	4	0	Greg	Mulholland
Area Director	5	N	Tim	Muhundan
Area Director	5	Р	Paul	Vaughan
Area Director	4	K	Kenneth	Gustilo
Area Director	1	Р	Tracy	Bovett
Area Director	2	0	Barry	Shaw
Area Director	5	0	Derek	Hiscoke
Area Director	2	R	Julian	Leite
Area Director	4	N	Harpreet	Kaur
Area Director	3	0	Cameron	Phillips
Area Director	2	Q	William	Walker
Area Director	1	М	Clifford	Hall
Area Director	2	М	Andrew	Rodgers
Area Director	3	R	Roslynn	Young
Area Director	3	Q	Paul	Jacobs
Area Director	3	Р	Craig	Holz
Area Director	3	K	Murray	Coutts
Area Director	3	N	Warren	Christie
Area Director	3	М	Lukshmi	Ranasinghe
Area Director	1	L	James	Edley
Area Director	2	Р	Helen	Ivess
Area Director	1	Q	Luke	Kerr
Area Director	3	L	Nick	Woods

Area Director	1	N	Jeremy	Bachelier
Area Director	4	M	Cedric	Marie
Area Director	4	Р	Jobet	Panton
Finance Manager			Bruce	Collis
Public Relations				
Manager			Michelle	Berriman

District Field Officers

Web Master	Mike Diggins	
Logistics Manager	BJ O'Leary	
Club Extension Chair	Aroha Heene	
District Photographer	Rob Wightman	
Club Quality Chair	Neil Stichbury	
Club Retention Chair	John di Leo	
District Training Chair	Amy Overington	
District Parliamentaria	n Alun Chisholm	

13. District Structure for the 2023-2024 Toastmasters Year (Realignment)

The Report is HERE. PLEASE READ PRIOR TO COUNCIL

Item 18 from April 2023 DCM that was deferred to allow more time for Workshops and Consultation with Clubs and Members continues here as Item 13.

That the changes in the assignment of clubs to Areas and Divisions for the following Toastmasters Year (1 July 2023) as proposed by the District Alignment Committee be approved:

- Division Proposals
 - K 3 Clubs move (No K5)
 - L 1 Club moves
 - M Changes for M4 and M5
 - N Changes to N1 and N3 (No N2)
 - O Changes to O4 and O5
 - P No Changes
 - Q Changes for Q 1, 2 and 3 (No Q5)
 - R Changes to R1, 2 and 3

Mover: Toni Sharp, President – Taumarunui

Seconder: Richard Perkins, Club Growth Director

Carried

14. Close

Meeting closed at 1:32pm

THIS PAGE IS BLANK